Events

2020 Events

Saturday, January 4noon to 4 p.m.

Holiday Social, at Denise Cross’s meeting room, Berlin, Mass.

Optional dinner group Friday night at 110 Grill.

 

Thursday, February 66:45 to 8:15 p.m.

Virtual Meeting: Katherine Willson, “Diversifying Your Talents to Build a Better Business”

 

Saturday, March 7 – 10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Congregational Library & Archives, Boston, Mass.

 

Wednesday, March 18 – 12:00 to 1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

Topic: “What’s the Newest Book on Your Shelf?”, hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

 

Wednesday, March 25 – 12:00 to 1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

Topic: “What’s the Oldest Book on Your Shelf?”, hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

(This can be either the book with the earliest publication date, or the one you have personally held the longest).

If possible, please arrive at the meeting with camera ON, and your book in hand.

 

Wednesday, April 1 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Who’s Your Most Notorious or Dastardly Ancestor?”, hosted by Donna Brandelli

 

Saturday/Sunday, April 4-5

Gold Sponsor of Massachusetts Genealogical Council’s Virtual Conference.

 

Tuesday, April 7 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Who Are Your Most Recent Immigrants to the U.S.?” hosted by Jane Wilcox

Be ready to share the date, location, a very short story, and a photo if you have one.

 

Thursday, April 16 – 12:00 to 1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“What Are You Working On?” hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

Be ready to share your screen to show the group what you’ve been up to.

 

Thursday, April 23 – 12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Staying on Track: Tips for Avoiding Rabbit Holes” hosted by Pamela Vittorio

Do you, or your clients, chase or cling to the wrong ancestors? How do you get back on the right research track?

 

Thursday, April 30 – 12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Break Out!” hosted by the Program Committee

We’ll break into small groups to discuss serious, and not-so-serious, topics.

 

Thursday, May 7 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Virtual Conferences and Businesses,” hosted by Susan O’Connor and Barbara Mathews

It’s a new world out there. How does going virtual help you to run your business?

 

Thursday, May 14 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

Women’s History Month Throw-Back

“Who is the Most Notable Woman in Your Research?” hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

 

Tuesday, May 19

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“What Are You Working On?” Part 2, hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

Come ready to tell us what you’ve been up to. Those who didn’t get to share at the April 16 Lunch Bunch will go first.

 

Tuesday, May 26 – Noon to 1 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“How Do You Know When You Need Help?” hosted by Bryna O’Sullivan and Donna Brandelli

Genealogists are the ultimate DYIers.

But sometimes you really should be spending money on help.

How do you know when?

 

Tuesday, June 2 – Noon to 1 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Tech Tips for Genealogists” hosted by Christine Gray-Mullen

 

Thursday, June 11 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Elevator Pitch” hosted by Jennifer Shoer

What makes a good elevator pitch? What’s the most effective way

to talk about your career with others?

Tonight, we’ll talk about how to prepare: next week, we’ll try out what we’ve learned!

 

Thursday, June 18 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Speed Dating!” hosted by Jennifer Shoer

Get your elevator pitch ready! It’s time to put yourself out there.

This is a great opportunity to do some networking

and practice talking to others about your career.

 

Tuesday, June 23 – 12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“What Are You Working On?” hosted by Jennifer Shoer

Be ready to share a little about what you’ve been up to. 

Those who haven’t participated in a previous WAYWO will have the chance to go first.

If you have participated before, feel free to talk about another project this time.

 

Tuesday, June 30 – 12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

Topic to be announced. 

 

Thursday, July 9 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Tech Tips” hosted by Donna Brandelli

 

Thursday, July 16 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Cemeteries” hosted by Jenifer Kahn Bakkala

 

Tuesday, July 28 – 12:00-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Tech Tips II” hosted by Christine Gray-Mullen

 

Thursday, August 13 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Trivia Night!” hosted by Jennifer Shoer

 

Saturday, August 22 – Noon to 4 p.m. – CANCELLED

Summer Social at the home of Christine Bard, Litchfield, N.H.

 

Thursday, August 27 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Lunch Bunch online get-together

“Trivia Night!” hosted by Jennifer Shoer

 

Thursday, August 27 – 7:00-8:00 p.m.

Online Meeting

“Prestenting Yourself”

 

Saturday, September 26 

Program To Be Announced

 

Wednesday, October 21 – 6:45 to 8:15 p.m.

Virtual Meeting: Melissa Johnson, “Productivity Hacks for Genealogists”

 

Saturday, November 14 – 10 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.

Annual meeting

Speaker: Angela Packer McGhie